Diary: A gift from Lae Mae

Journal Entry: July 5, 2011

Image

Mountain side basketball

Sitting at my first school for the day… about to share the gospel at a flag ceremony with 690+ students. I have so much to share though in a short amount of time. Our jeepney broke down yesterday at a school and we were stranded for about an hour. It turned out to be a blessing because it gave us an opportunity for Carolina and I to play basketball with the kids on the side of the mountain. We were able to talk a lot more with the children about our faith and what Jesus has done for us and before we left a young girl named Lea Mae walked up to me and gave me a note, she then took of her heart necklace from around her neck and gave it to me. The note was so sweet, she thanked me for visiting her school and she wanted me to know she had accepted Christ that day. She was so appreciative she wanted to give me her necklace. I kept asking if she was sure she wanted me to have it and she insisted. I was hesitant to take it because I know it was the nicest thing she probably had. I was not wearing any jewelry but I was wearing one of my favorite headbands, so I took it off and gave it to her. Another little girl had been making me a bracelet while we waited for our jeepney to be fixed. She couldn’t speak english but it was so sweet when she stretched out her little hand to hand me a beaded bracelet she had strung. It meant so much to me. And I will treasure these gifts more than gold for the rest of my life.

Image

Lae Mae after giving me her sweet note and necklace.

Image

Being silly with the children while waiting for our jeepney to be fixed. 

Last night, Pastor Stone also gave me a salvation bracelet he had made in Baguio City. The beads tell the story of Christ and I cant wait to get home and to have people compliment me or ask about my bracelet so I can use it as an opportunity to share the gospel!!

Leave a Reply

